Tell Me Three Things

Bauxbaum, J. (2016). Tell Me Three Things. NY: Delacorte Press .

With the perfect mix of comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and joy, the characters in Julie Bauxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things come to feel like old friends who make any day V23 new typeface tagline.inddbetter. This young adult novel is sure to appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son, and to start at a new school where she knows no one.

Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Advertisements

One thought on “Tell Me Three Things

  1. It’s quite strange to follow your reviews since I’m reading or have just read most books you highlight on your blog 🙂
    I’ve immensely enjoyed Tell Me Three Things, which I read very recently. Since I know California quite well I found funny to witness Jessie’s first impressions when landing in L.A. The mystery, built around SN, is well done and lasts until the last minute.
    The only thing I wondered at the end is how SN had been able to get Jessie’s email to initiate contact? She was new to school and knew no one, had not spoken to anyone and certainly nothing hints to her giving her email address.
    Detail that bugged me 🙂
    But it’s a great read with lots of emotions that rang authentic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s