The Maze Runner

REVIEW BY SOPHIE

Dashner, J. (2009). The Maze Runner. NY: Delacorte Press.

Everyone knows The Hunger Games. I really enjoyed the whole trilogy which is why I decided to try The Maze Runner. Now that I think of it, they are not similar at all! The only thing that connects them is they are both dystopian books. I still love them equally but differently. The thing that stood out to me the most about The Maze Runner is its 6186357setting. The only information the reader knows is that the characters are in a maze, but where is the maze? How do people get there?

The Maze Runner by James Dashner is a New York Times bestselling Young Adult book. The story follows Thomas, a boy who awakes into a strange world – the centre of a maze – knowing nothing but his name. He learns all about his new environment, such as how monsters come out at night, how the boys call themselves gladers, and how a new boy is routinely delivered to the maze once a month. Surprisingly, the day after Thomas’ arrival, a girl arrives – the single one among fifty boys. Teresa brings a message that everything is going to change. And it does.

When I picked up this book I wasn’t sure how good it would be, and my expectations weren’t that high, however The Maze Runner proved me wrong; my expectations were beyond fulfilled. I was hooked by the fast pace.

During the action scenes, Dashner’s writing kept up by being descriptive but not taking too long. This quick style helped turn the book into a page-turner, and I will use some of the same techniques such as shorter sentence length  that move the plot along quickly the next time I want to write an exciting story.

Now I’m in the mood for more exciting reality-based adventure books. The Maze Runner has urged me to expand and choose more books in this genre and I plan to try The Challenge by Ridley Pearson next.

If you enjoy dystopian novels, you’ll probably like The Maze Runner, The Hunger Games series, or Dashner’s The Eye of Minds (the first in The Mortality Doctrine series).

Leave a Reply

